Administrative Services

The Administrative Services unit provides support for governing board elections, policy development, and School District Organization.

Governing Board Elections

The County Superintendent of Schools holds the responsibility of calling elections for any school district election or community college district election, other than a bond election.  Working collaboratively with the Riverside County Registrar of Voters, the Riverside County Office of Education staff ensures that the legal requirements related to calling elections are addressed within the parameters and time frames provided by education code.

Additionally, RCOE staff provides direction and support to school districts faced with filling board vacancies that occur mid-term.

Policy Development

Board Policies and successive Administrative Regulations are the framework for how the Riverside County Office of Education conducts business in pursuit of addressing its philosophy of “Service, Quality, and Leadership.”

Policy-making is a continuous, on-going process.  Policies are continually reviewed, modified, added and deleted as they are found to be necessary and useful in the operation of the organization.

School District Organization

The Riverside County Committee on School District Organization (County Committee) is an independent, 11-member body. Its members are elected to four-year terms by representatives of Riverside County school district governing boards. County Committee activities are coordinated by staff of the Riverside County Office of Education.

As defined by Education Code, the County Committee reviews school district reorganization proposals, including proposals to transfer territory between school districts and to unify or create new school districts. The County Committee makes decisions to approve or disapprove proposals to transfer territory. For proposals to unify or create new school districts, the County Committee makes a recommendation for approval or disapproval to the California State Board of Education.

Two representatives from each of the five supervisorial districts in Riverside County, and one member-at-large comprise the committee.

First Supervisorial District
Ben Johnson – 2020
11307 Estates Court
Riverside, 92503
Tom Hunt – 2021
2141 Westminster Drive
Riverside, 92506
Second Supervisorial District
Nathan Miller – 2022
1436 Evergreen Lane
Corona, 92879
Karen Bradford – 2023
5085 Trail Canyon Drive
Jurupa Valley, 91752
Third Supervisorial District
Paul Diffley – 2021
24845 Appian Way
Murrieta, 92562
Ross Valenzuela – 2023
955 Bambury Drive
Temecula, 92592
Fourth Supervisorial District
Wendy Jonathan – 2021
73-214 Loma Vista Lane
Palm Desert, 92260
Gary Tomak – 2020
54991 Tanglewood
La Quinta, CA 92253
Fifth Supervisorial District
Ron Duncan – 2023
47183 Woodcliff Drive
Banning, 92220
Cleveland CJ Johnson – 2022
15720 Turnberry Street
Moreno Valley, 92555
Mary Helen Ybarra – 2018
609Hacienda Drive
Corona, 92882