McKinney-Vento Homeless Children and Youth Education Program

The purpose of the McKinney-Vento Homeless Children and Youth Education Program is to ensure that all children and youth have equal access to the same free and appropriate public education, including preschool education as non-homeless children and youth.  To ensure the success of all students, the Riverside County Office of Education assists in developing and implementing policies and procedures for the education of homeless children and youths across Riverside County.  The program takes a collaborative approach by providing technical assistance to district homeless liaisons, social services agencies, and community-based organizations.

Definition of Homeless

The term homeless children and youth means individuals who lack a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence.  This definition also includes:

  • Children and youth who are sharing the housing of other persons due to loss of housing, economic hardship, or a similar reason.
  • Children who may be living in motels, hotels, trailer parks, shelter, or awaiting foster care placement.
  • Children and youth who have a primary nighttime residence that is a public or private place not designed for or ordinarily used as a regular sleeping accommodation for human beings.
  • Children and youth who are living in cars, parks, public spaces, abandoned buildings, substandard housing, bus or train stations, or similar settings.
  • Migratory children who qualify as homeless because they are children who are living in similar circumstances listed above.
  • Children and youth living in these settings meet criteria for the McKinney-Vento definition of homelessness and have educational rights.

McKinney-Vento Homeless Liaison Roster

Alvord USD
Sandy Fielding, Director*
(951) 509-5139
sandy.fielding@alvordschools.org

Banning USD
Barbara Wolford*
(951) 922-0224
wolford@banning.k12.ca.us

Beaumont USD
Domenica Bernauer*
(951) 845-1631 x5345
dbernauer@beaumontusd.k12.ca.us

Coachella Valley USD
Norma Rodriguez*
(760) 848-1156
nrodriguez@cvusd.us

Corona-Norco USD
Dr. John Pablo Sanchez*
(951) 736-5178
josanchez@cnusd.k12.ca.us

Desert Center USD
Susan Scott*
(760)413-2646
suescott@eaglemtnschool.com

Desert Sands USD
Larry Bellanich *
(760) 771-8612
larry.bellanich@desertsands.us

Hemet USD
Dennis Massey*
(951) 765-5100 x3700
dmassey@hemetusd.org

Jurupa USD
Olga Alferez*
(951) 360-4140
olga_alferez@jusd.k12.ca.us

Lake Elsinore USD
Dr. Steve Behar *
(951) 253-7033
steve.behar@leusd.k12.ca.us

Menifee SD
Caroline Luke*
(951) 672-1851 x49050
cluke@menifeeusd.org

Moreno Valley USD
Dr. Lynne Sheffield*
951-571-7630
lsheffield@mvusd.net

Murrieta Valley USD
Howard Dimler*
(951) 696-1600 ext 1037
hdimler@murrieta.k12.ca.us

Nuview Union SD
Dr. Jennie LaBriola*
(951) 928-0201
jlabriola@nuview.k12.ca.us

Palm Springs USD
Dr. Anne Kalisek*
(760) 883-2703×4805101
akalisek@psusd.us

Palo Verde USD
Judith Browder*
(760) 922-4164
jbrowder@pvusd.us

Perris Union HSD
Robert Brough*
(951) 943-6369×81202
rbrough@puhsd.org

Perris Elementary SD
Michelle Ruffolo*
(951) 940-4942
Michelle.ruffolo@perrisesd.org

Riverside USD
Raul Ayala*
(951) 352-8497
rayala@rusd.k12.ca.us

Romoland
Michelle Wise*
(951) 926-9244 x1229
mwise@romoland.net

San Jacinto
Dr. Karen Kirschinger*
(951) 929-7700 X4291
kkirschinger@sanjacinto.k12.ca.us

Temecula Valley USD
Kimberly Velez*
(951) 506-7083
kvelez@tvusd.k12.ca.us

Val Verde USD
Troy Knudsvig*
(951) 940-6100 x 10471
tknudsvig@valverde.edu

* Single Point of Contact