Saul Martinez Elementary School honored by…

by Michelle Mitchell - September 14, 2012 at 11:38 AM - michelle.mitchell@thedesertsun.com Saul Martinez Elementary School was recognized for its parent programs Thursday by the Riverside County Office of Education. The Mecca school was given one of three awards honoring… Read full article at source

Banning: School district looks to increase…

by Erin Waldner - ewaldner@pe.com At a brainstorming session on how to get students to go to school in the Banning Unified district, a variety of ideas were bantered about, from offering incentives such as free movie tickets to doing… Read full article at source

Jurupa Valley: School board ponders student…

by Sandra Stokley - September 14, 2012 at 03:51 PM - sstokley@pe.com Hundreds of Jurupa students are lost each year to other school districts, and some school board members want to know why. Jurupa school board members on Monday, Sept.… Read full article at source

Romoland: New middle school named for…

by Michelle L. Klampe - September 17, 2012 at 6:14 AM - mklampe@pe.com The Romoland’s new middle school will be named for citrus magnate Ethan A. Chase, who once owned land in the region. Chase was a civic leader, a… Read full article at source

Perris: Val Verde emails shows possible…

by Lora Hines - September 14, 2012 at 07:02 PM -lhines@pe.com Two months of email exchanged between Val Verde’s five school board members indicates that almost all might have violated the state open-meeting law by discussing, deliberating and soliciting support… Read full article at source

Beaumont superintendent to head to Hemet…

by Julie Farren - September 15, 2012 at 12:07 AM CDT Beaumont Unified School District Superintendent Barry Kayrell has been hired in the same position to helm the Hemet Unified School District starting Oct. 1. The Hemet Unified School District… Read full article at source

STATE: Pension changes would cover less than…

by Jon Ortiz - August 30, 2012 at 12:00 am- jortiz@sacbee.com A public pension reform proposal favored by Gov. Jerry Brown would save struggling state and local governments between $40 billion and $60 billion over 30 years, according to a… Read full article at source

STATE: Assemblyman’s teacher rating bill shelved

by Jim Sanders - August 30, 2012 at 11:49 pm - jsanders@sacbee.com Hotly contested legislation to create a new statewide teacher evaluation system was shelved Thursday night, one day before the Legislature adjourns for the year. Assemblyman Felipe Fuentes made… Read full article at source